Prashant Garg

Executive Chair of L V Prasad Eye Institute

Prashant Garg has held several leadership positions of the institute before being elected to the present position. He is also the Paul Dubord chair of Cornea, and network director of eye banks of the institute.

Dr. Garg obtained his medical degree (1987)and residency in Ophthalmology (1991) from Ravindra Nath Tagore Medical College Udaipur affiliated to the Rajasthan University, Jaipur. He completed his cornea fellowship from L V Prasad Eye Institute and joined the organization as faculty in cornea and anterior segment services in 1997. In addition to Ophthalmology training programs, he has attended the “Leadership Development Program” at the Center for Creative Leadership, North Carolina, USA in 2015 and “Program for Educators in Health Professions”’at the Harvard Macy Institute, Boston in 2016.

His primary area of interest and ongoing research is Corneal infection and has published extensively on epidemiology, clinical features of rare infections, antibiotic resistance in ocular isolates and drug delivery systems. He has received several major grants including ones from Wellcome trust UK, Newton Bhabha Fund - a joint program of the department of biotechnology, Government of India and the Medical Research Council UK, UK Research and Innovation, Department of biotechnology, and the Indian Council of Medical Research. Recently, his name appeared in the list of top 2% researchers of the world.

He is member of various national and international ophthalmology societies including American Academy of Ophthalmology, Asia Pacific Academy of Ophthalmology, All India ophthalmology Society and Asia cornea society. He is on the board of International Joint Commission for Allied Health Personnel in Ophthalmology (IJCAHPO), Eye and Contact Lens Association (ECLA) and the ICO subcommittee on allied health education. He also served as the president of the Ocular Microbiology Immunology Group (2013). He is member of the editorial board of the Canadian Journal of Ophthalmology, and Eye and Contact lens Journal.

He is recipient of several awards including the “senior achievement award” from the American Academy of Ophthalmology (2013) and achievement award of Asia Pacific Academy of Ophthalmology 2013. He is member of the UKRI International Development Peer Review College.