Business and Policy Dialogue, a series of constructive discussions between ISB faculty members and policy practitioners, was instituted in 2020. These dialogues aim to facilitate a meaningful exchange of ideas, insights, and research-based perspectives on a topic of mutual interest.

Key aspects of the Business and Policy Dialogue include:

Thought Leadership: The initiative serves as a platform for showcasing cutting-edge research and innovative ideas from our faculty members, who are renowned experts in their respective fields. Through these insights, we actively contribute to the formulation of progressive, impactful, and well-informed policy frameworks.

Collaboration: Through meaningful dialogue and knowledge sharing, we cultivate mutually beneficial relationships that support policy formulation, implementation, and evaluation.

Knowledge Dissemination: Business and Policy Dialogue aids the dissemination of research outputs, policy briefs, and insights through diverse channels. It aims to reach a wide range of audiences, including policymakers, researchers, practitioners, and the general public, in order to raise awareness and facilitate informed decision-making.


Business and Policy Dialogues






Starting on November 23, 2020, we have successfully organised 11 dialogues with eminent personalities on various topics of greater importance:

  • Farms and Agriculture Issues
  • Groundwater development, irrigation, and agrarian distress in Punjab
  • Intelligent Automation and the Future of Work
  • Climate Change and Glaciers
  • Rejuvenating India's public health system
  • The Civil Aviation sector in India
  • Digital Governance and Service Delivery: Lessons from Punjab
  • Capacity Building in the Government
  • Future-Ready Human Capital
  • Rethinking leadership in the public sector
  • Grand challenges in sustainability


Rachel Kyte

Rachel Kyte

Dean, The Fletcher School
Tufts University 

R Balasubramaniam

R Balasubramaniam 

Member-HR, Capacity Building Commission, Government of India

Navin Mittal

Navin Mittal, IAS

Commissioner, Collegiate Education and Technical Education, Government of Telangana 

Hemang Jani

Hemang Jani
Secretary, Capacity Building Commission
Government of India 

Ravi Bhagat

Ravi Bhagat, IAS

Punjab Mandi Board

Usha Padhee

Usha Padhee, IAS

Joint Secretary, Ministry of Civil Aviation
Government of India

Arti Ahuja

Arti Ahuja, IAS

Additional Secretary, Department of Health and Family Welfare, Government of India

Caroline Rowett

Caroline Rowett 

British Deputy High Commissioner

Kunal Satyarthi, IFS

Kunal Satyarthi, IFS
Principal, Central Academy for State Forest Service (CASFOS), Ministry of Environment, Forest and Climate Change, Government of India

Ulka Kelkar

Ulka Kelkar 
Director - Climate Programme
World Resources Institute, India 

David M Hannah

David M. Hannah

Professor of Hydrology and UNESCO Chair in Water Science, University of Birmingham, UK 

Miriam Jackson

Miriam Jackson 
Programme Co-ordinator, Cryosphere Initiative, River Basins and Cryosphere, International Centre for Integrated Mountain Development (ICIMOD)

Jayesh Ranjan

Jayesh Ranjan, IAS

Principal Secretary, Industries and Commerce, IT, E&C, Government of Telangana

Karan Avtar Singh

Karan Avtar Singh, IAS 

Chairman, Punjab Water Regulation and Development Authority, Government of Punjab 

Suresh Kumar, IAS

Suresh Kumar, IAS

Chief Principal Secretary to
Chief Minister, Punjab