Thulasiraj Ravilla

Executive Director, LAICO - Aravind Eye Care System

Thulasiraj is an MBA from the Indian Institute of Management- Calcutta. After eight-years in Industry he joined Aravind Eye Hospital in 1981, to lead the administration as a member of its start-up leadership team. Aravind Eye Hospitals now annually handle over four and half million outpatient visits and perform over half million surgeries and other interventions. Over half of these patients receive care either free or steeply subsidized rates, through internal financing. In 1992, he co-founded Lions Aravind Institute of Community Ophthalmology which has mentored over 360 hospitals in India and imparted management training to over 2,600 eye-care professionals from across the globe. 

Mr. Thulasiraj has been actively involved in several research activities, both clinical and operations research. He has authored/co-authored over hundred articles in peer reviewed publications, written book chapters and presented papers in several National and International forums. 

He has been an advisor on several national and international bodies. He was IAPB’s Southeast Asia’s Regional Chair and was Founder President of Vision 2020 India. He is or has been on the Board of Aurolab, Acumen Fund, Seva Foundation and Indian Institute of Management-Calcutta.  


Named a Social Entrepreneur in May 2005 by the Schwab Foundation of World Economic Forum (WEF) and was been invited to attend the WEF at Davos, Switzerland over several years. He was adjudged as the Administrator of the Year in 2008 in by Modern Medicare and GE Health. The Chinese Ophthalmological Society in recognition of the support to the prevention of blindness in China awarded him the International Gold Award for the year 2009. Was an invited speaker at the TED Conference, India in 2009. Listed amongst the 30 most influential people in public health globally and recognized as the ‘Most inspiring Healthcare Leader of the year’ by Times of India – both in 2014. He was honoured as the distinguished alumni by Indian institute of Management – Calcutta in 2018.